The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) announced it has selected four of the seven members to serve on each of its Men's and Women's National Team Selection Committees.

These individuals, who represent the ASA or Affiliated Organizations, were chosen by a three-person panel. The panel was put in place by the ASA Board of Directors during the 2000 Annual Council Meeting in Spokane, WA. Members chosen for the Women's National Team Selection Committee are Pacific Coast Region Player Rep, Sam Ducato (Castro Valley, CA); Midwest Player Rep, Dan Highland (Normal, IL); Texas ASA Commissioner, Ronnie Isham (Stephenville, TX); and Michigan Junior Olympic Commissioner and At-Large Player Rep, Marty McGuire (Midland, MI).

Highland, Isham and McGuire all served on the Women's National Team Selection Committee that chose the 1998 World Championship, 1999 Pan American and 2000 Olympic gold medalist teams.

Members chosen for the Men's National Team Selection Committee are Ohio Umpire-In-Chief, Warren Jones (Ashland, OH); former player and current at-large player rep, Doug Lindaman (Ackley, IA); International Softball Congress (ISC) Secretary Tom Stasik (Frankenmuth, MI); and Austin, TX, ASA Commissioner, Cliff Warrick (Austin, TX).

Jones, Lindaman, and Warrick all served on the Men's National Team Selection Committee that chose the men's teams that captured the silver medal at the 1999 Pan Am Games and the bronze medal at the 2000 ISF World Championship.

Two player representatives, who will be chosen by the elite athlete representatives, will be added to each committee at a later date. Once these six members are in place, they will choose a head coach for each of the USA Softball programs and he/she will serve as the seventh member of the committee.


Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today