Phoenix College head coach Heinz Mueller and assistants Hank Schrader, Christa Pfeninger and Dallas Kuhlman have been named the 2006 Speedline/NFCA NJCAA Division II Coaching Staff of the Year, the association announced Wednesday. 

Mueller and his staff will be honored at the 2006 NFCA National Convention in Tucson, Ariz., Dec. 6-9. 

The award is the second consecutive national honor for the Phoenix staff after it earned the award in 2005. Mueller and his staff led the Bears to a third-straight NJCAA Division II national title in 2006. The title win was the fifth in seven years for Phoenix College, who finished the season 54-9-1. 

The Phoenix College staff was also recognized as South Region Coaching Staff of the Year. Other regional winners are as follows: 

Midwest Region — Iowa Lakes Community College 
Head Coach — Michael Bosch 
Assistant Coaches — Megan Anderson and Kyle Norris 

Bosch guided Iowa Lakes to a 54-6 overall record as the Lakers finished the season sixth in the NJCAA Division II national poll and topped the ICCAC standings. 

East Region — Mercyhurst North East 
Head Coach — Brian Dewey 
Assistant Coaches — Mike Lyons 

Dewey guided the Saints to a 27-10 record in 2006. Under Dewey and Lyons, Mercyhurst won the New York Athletic Conference title for the third straight year. 

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today