ASHLAND, Ohio – The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced today the final roster for the 2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team. In January, 12 athletes were named to the National Team and this week twenty additional players attended the USA Softball Women’s National Team selection camp in Ashland, Ohio to compete for the final spots on the roster.

The five additional athletes selected to represent Team USA are:

Amanda Chidester  (Allen Park, Mich./Michigan 2012)
Sam Fischer (Simi Valley, Calif./Loyola Marymount 2012)
Christi Orgeron (New Orleans, La./Louisiana Lafayette 2012)
Jessica Shults (Valencia, Calif./Oklahoma senior)
Jackie Traina (Naples, Fla./Alabama junior) 

The 12 athletes who were named to the 2012 USA Softball Women’s National Team in January are Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif./Cal senior), Kaitlin Cochran (Yorba Linda, Calif./Arizona State 2009), Lauren Gibson (Pasadena, Md./Tennessee junior), Ashley Holcombe (Fayetteville, Ga./Alabama 2009), Molly Johnson (Tucson, Ariz./Kentucky 2010), Stacy May-Johnson (Reno, Nev./Iowa 2006), Jenae Leles (Sacramento, Calif./Arizona 2009), Michelle Moultrie (Jacksonville, Fla./Florida senior), Keilani Ricketts (San Jose, Calif./Oklahoma junior), Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Michigan 2011), Rhea Taylor (Buford, Ga./Missouri 2011) and Chelsea Thomas (Pleasantville, Iowa/Missouri junior).

The following athletes will make up the USA Elite team who will participate in a series of exhibition games over the course of the next six days in Summersville, W.Va. (June 14) and Ashland, Ohio (June 18).

Lexy Bennett (Kingwood, Texas/Texas 2012)
Katelyn Boyd (Phoenix, Ariz./Arizona State 2012)
Elizabeth Caporuscio (Lake Arrowhead, Calif./Arizona State sophomore)
Lauren Chamberlain (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./Oklahoma sophomore)
Dallas Escobedo  (Glendale, Ariz./Arizona State junior)
Rebecca Gamby (Mount Victory, Ohio/Marshall 2012)
Jolene Henderson (Elk Grove, Calif./California senior)
Taylor Hoagland (Flower Mound, Texas/Texas senior)
Destinee Martinez (Corona, Calif./Oklahoma junior)
Meagan May (Spring, Texas/Texas A&M senior)
Sara Nevins (Pinellas Park, Fla./South Florida junior)
Ellen Renfroe (Jackson, Tenn./Tennessee junior)
Janine Richardson (Auburndale, Fla./South Florida 2012)
Madison Shipman (Valencia, Calif./Tennessee junior)
Lindsey Ziegenhirt (Elk Grove, Calif./California senior)

The USA Women’s National team will compete in six different events in the United States and Canada. Fans in the United States will get four opportunities to see the team in action with two exhibition stops scheduled as well as the Title IX 40th Anniversary Celebration Game against Canada on June 23 and the World Cup of Softball VII presented by Lumber Liquidators, June 27- July 2, in Oklahoma City. For ticket information on the Title IX Game and World Cup VII as well as the tour stops in Summersville, W. Va. and Ashland, Ohio, click herehere.

Following the World Cup, the Women’s National Team is slated to compete July 4-9 at the Canadian Open Fast Pitch International Championship in Surrey, B.C., Canada, and July 13-22 at the International Softball Federation (ISF) Women’s World Championship in Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada.

-Courtesy of ASA/USA Softball

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today