OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, has selected its initial “Watch List” for the 10th Annual USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women’s collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Past winners of this award include UCLA’s Stacey Nuveman, Florida State’s Jessica Van der Linden, three-time winner Texas pitcher Cat Osterman, Tennessee’s Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech’s Angela Tincher and two-time winner Washington’s Danielle Lawrie. 

The 2011 Pre-Season Watch List is comprised of 50 players representing 36 schools and 15 different NCAA Division I Conferences with the Pac-10 Conference leading the way with seven schools represented. The list includes 23 seniors, 12 juniors and 15 sophomores. 

The ASA will announce the 25 finalists on April 13. A player does not have to appear on this initial watch list to be considered as a top 25 finalist. However, once the top 25 finalists are named the winner of the award will come from that list. *Freshman qualify for the top 25 list once they have competed at the collegiate level. 

2011 USA Softball Player of the Year Watch List

Name (School) – Year – Position – Hometown
Valerie Arioto (California) – Senior – Utility – Pleasanton, Calif. 
Hillary Bach (Arizona State) – Junior – Pitcher – Tulsa, Okla. 
Donna Bourgeois (Houston) – Senior – Pitcher – Lafayette, La. 
Katelyn Boyd (Arizona State) – Junior – Infield – Phoenix, Ariz. 
Kayla Braud (Alabama) – Sophomore – Infield – Eugene, Ore. 
Stephanie Brombacher (Florida) – Senior – Pitcher – Pembroke Pines, Fla. 
Anna Cahn (Cal Poly) – Senior – Pitcher/Designated Player – Los Alamitos, Calif. 
Raven Chavanne (Tennessee) – Sophomore – Outfield – Thousand Oaks, Calif. 
GiOnna DiSalvatore (UCLA) – Senior – Infield – Palm Harbor, Fla. 
Kelsi Dunne (Alabama) – Senior – Pitcher – Port Orange, Fla. 
Rachel Fico (LSU) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Oxford, Conn. 
Kenzie Fowler (Arizona) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Tucson, Ariz. 
Olivia Galati (Hofstra) – Sophomore – Pitcher – West Babylon, NY 
Alisa Goler (Georgia) – Senior – Infield – Frankfort, Ill. 
Melissa Gonzalez (Hawaii) – Senior – Infield – Moreno Valley, Calif. 
Kelly Grieve (Tennessee) – Senior –Outfield –Asheville, N.C. 
Ashley Guile (Nebraska) – Junior – Utility – Olathe, Kan. 
Meredith Hackett (Illinois) – Junior – Infield – Corona, Calif. 
Sarah Hamilton (Florida State) – Senior – Pitcher – Tallahassee, Fla. 
Ashley Hansen (Stanford) – Junior – Infield – Chandler, Ariz. 
Andrea Harrison (UCLA) – Junior – Outfield – Garden Grove, Calif. 
Alicia Herron (Ohio State) – Junior – Shortstop – Cypress, Calif. 
Alex Holmes (UC Davis) – Senior - Pitcher/DP – San Juan Capistrano, Calif. 
Whitney Kiihnl (Lipscomb) – Junior – Pitcher/Outfield – Batesville, Miss. 
Brittany Lastrapes (Arizona) – Senior – Outfield - Laguna Niguel, Calif. 
Blaire Luna (Texas ) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Austin, Texas 
Kelly Majam (Hawaii) – Sophomore – Outfield - Pine Valley, Calif. 
Jenna Marston (Missouri) – Sophomore – Infield - St. Louis, Mo. 
Meagan May (Texas A&M) – Sophomore – Catcher/1B – Spring, Texas 
Morgan Melloh (Indiana) – Senior - Pitcher – Fishers, Ind. 
Jen Mineau (Fordham) – Junior – Pitcher - Schaghticoke, N.Y. 
Abby Olson (Illinois State) –Senior- Infield – Hartsburg, Ill. 
Toni Paisley (East Carolina) – Senior – Pitcher/Utility – Lakewood, Calif. 
Samantha Pappas (Oregon) – Sophomore – Outfield – Las Flores, Calif. 
Sara Plourde (Massachusetts) – Junior – Pitcher – Bristol, Conn. 
Jessica Purcell-Fitu (BYU) – Senior – Catcher – Walnut, Calif. 
Jamia Reid (California) – Junior - Outfield – Buena Park, Calif. 
Ivy Renfroe (Tennessee) - Sophomore – Pitcher – Jackson, Tenn. 
Keilani Ricketts (Oklahoma) – Sophomore - Pitcher – San Jose, Calif. 
Hope Rush (Georgia Tech) – Sophomore – Pitcher – Stockbridge, Ga. 
Jenn Salling (Washington) – Senior – Infield – Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada 
Taylor Schlopy (Georgia) – Senior – Outfield – West Hills, Calif. 
Brittany Schutte (Florida) – Sophomore – Utility – Fountain Valley, Calif. 
April Setterlund (Boston) – Senior – Outfield –Torrance, Calif. 
Dorian Shaw (Michigan) – Senior – Infield – Burke, Va. 
Kristen Shifflett (Radford) – Senior – Shortstop – Charlottesville, Va. 
Jessica Shults (Oklahoma) – Sophomore – Catcher – Valencia, Calif. 
Jordan Taylor (Michigan) – Senior – Pitcher – Valencia, Calif. 
Rhea Taylor (Missouri) – Senior – Outfield – Buford, Ga. 
Niki Williams (Washington) – Junior – Outfield – Mission Viejo, Calif. 

Just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named and released on May 11. The final three finalists will be announced May 25 while the winner of the 2011 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the 2011 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City. 

- Courtesy of USA Softball

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today