2007 NCAA Division I Softball Championship Bracket2007 NCAA Division I Softball Championship Bracket 

INDIANAPOLIS—The defending champion University of Arizona was named the No. 1 seed in the NCAA Division I Softball Championship today when the NCAA Division I Softball Committee announced the 64-team field. The Wildcats, champions of the Pacific-10 Conference, are 39-12-1 and will open play against the automatic qualifier from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (winner of North Carolina A&T University vs. Howard University), May 18, in front of a home crowd in Tucson. 

Twenty-nine conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 35 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend. 

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible. 

The Pac-10 led all conferences with eight teams in the championship, while the Southeastern Conference placed seven, the Big 12 Conference has six, and the Atlantic Coast Conference and the Big West Conference each had five. California State University, Fresno, remains the only team to be selected to all 26 championships. Five teams are making their initial appearances in the tournament: Sam Houston State University, Eastern Michigan University, Stetson University, Winthrop University, and Furman University. Only eight schools have been crowned champion, all of which are in this year’s bracket. 

* Indicates host institution 

Tucson Regional - May 18-20 at Tucson, Arizona 
*No. 1 seed Arizona (39-12-1) vs. Howard 
Pacific (34-22) vs. Mississippi St. (34-25) 

Columbus Regional - May 18-20 at Columbus, Ohio 
*Ohio St. (38-16) vs. Cal St. Fullerton (34-20) 
Canisius (27-19) vs. No. 16 seed Virginia Tech (47-14) 

Ann Arbor Regional - May 18-20 at Ann Arbor, Michigan 
*No. 9 seed Michigan (43-11) vs. Eastern Mich. (27-20) 
Louisville (36-23) vs. Oregon St. (39-21) 

Hempstead Regional - May 18-20 at Hempstead, New York 
*Hofstra (40-13) vs. Harvard (31-13) 
Albany (N.Y.) (33-15) vs. No. 8 seed Baylor (45-13) 

Knoxville Regional - May 18-20 at Knoxville, Tennessee 
No. 5 seed Tennessee (54-5) vs. Furman (21-34-1) 
Winthrop (48-16) vs. North Carolina (45-19) 

Los Angeles Regional - May 18-20 at Los Angeles, California 
Hawaii (46-11) vs. UC Santa Barb. (30-21) 
Loyola Marymount (45-16) vs. *No. 12 seed UCLA (36-16) 

Gainesville Regional - May 18-20 at Gainesville, Florida 
*No. 13 seed Florida (46-20) vs. Stetson (44-20) 
Texas (33-18) vs. Georgia Tech (53-13) 

College Station Regional - May 18-20 at College Station ,Texas 
Houston (42-16) vs. La.- Lafayette (46-16) 
Sam Houston St. (37-24) vs. *No. 4 seed Texas A&M (40-10) 

Amherst Regional - May 18-20 at Amherst, Massachusetts 
No. 3 seed Oklahoma (52-6) vs. Colgate (25-22) 
Long Island (33-20) vs. *Massachusetts (37-12-1) 

Carbondale Regional - May 18-20 at Carbondale, Illinois 
Missouri (38-22) vs. *Southern Ill. (40-14) 
Mississippi Valley (29-26) vs. No. 14 seed DePaul (41-11) 

Tuscaloosa Regional - May 18-20 at Tuscaloosa, Alabama 
*No. 11 seed Alabama (51-7) vs. Tennessee Tech (48-17) 
California (33-30) vs. Florida St. (44-23) 

Lincoln Regional - May 18-20 at Lincoln, Nebraska 
*Nebraska (37-18) vs. Georgia (43-26) 
Creighton (39-12-1) vs. No. 6 seed Washington (35-16) 

Provo Regional - May 17-19 at Provo, Utah 
No. 7 seed Arizona St. (49-15) vs. Southern Utah (29-29) 
*Brigham Young (41-18) vs. Cal Poly (39-15) 

Palo Alto Regional - May 17-19 at Palo Alto, California 
*Stanford (33-19-1) vs. Fresno State (46-16) 
Cal St. Northridge (23-21) vs. No. 10 seed LSU (52-10) 

Columbia Regional - May 18-20 at Columbia, South Carolina 
No. 15 seed North Carolina St. (41-19) vs. *South Carolina (34-23) 
Penn St. (26-23) vs. Oregon (42-17) 

Evanston Regional - May 18-20 at Evanston, Illinois 
Illinois St. (42-15-1) vs. Notre Dame (31-22) 
Wright St. (25-33) vs. *No. 2 seed Northwestern (45-11) 


The Division I championship provides for a field of 64 teams. The championship will be three weekends of competition. Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. Sixteen teams were seeded and placed at one of the regional sites. 

The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series May 25-26 (Memorial Day Weekend) at eight campus sites. 

The remaining eight teams will advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will be a best-of-three-series. The WCWS will be conducted May 31 to June 6 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City. 


The NCAA Division I Softball Committee selected teams from the following eight regions to participate in the championship: Central, East, Northeast, South, Mideast, Midwest, West and Pacific. Twenty-nine conferences have been granted automatic qualification for the 2007 championship. 


Teams were selected to the field of 64 teams. The top 16 teams were seeded in order, and the remaining teams were placed in regional brackets to create balanced competition and avoid conference match-ups, when possible. 


America East Conference – Albany (N.Y.) 
Atlantic Coast Conference –Virginia Tech 
Atlantic-10 Conference – Massachusetts 
Atlantic Sun Conference – Stetson 
Big East Conference – Louisville 
Big South Conference –Winthrop 
Big Ten Conference – Ohio St. 
Big 12 Conference – Oklahoma 
Big West Conference – Cal Poly 
Colonial Athletic Conference – Hofstra 
Conference USA Conference – Houston 
Horizon League Conference – Wright St. 
Ivy Group – Harvard 
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference – Canisius 
Mid-American Athletic Conference – Eastern Mich. 
Mid-Continent Conference –Southern Utah 
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference – Winner of N.C. A&T /Howard 
Missouri Valley Conference – Creighton 
Mountain West Conference – Brigham Young 
Northeast Conference – Long Island 
Ohio Valley Conference – Tennessee Tech 
Pacific Coast Softball Conference – Loyola Marymount 
Pacific-10 Conference – Arizona 
Patriot League Conference – Colgate 
Southeastern Conference – LSU 
Southern Conference – Furman 
Southland Conference – Sam Houston St. 
Southwestern Athletic Conference – Mississippi Valley 
Western Athletic Conference – Fresno St.

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

bownet, nfca partner, nfca Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today