Seventeen players have been selected to the U.S. Junior Women's National Softball Team, it was announced by USA Softball. The selections were announced following a tryout camp October 3-5 at the ARCO Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista, Calif.

The team will represent the U.S. at the first Pan American Junior Women's Softball Championship, December 13-21 in Sonora, Republic of Mexico. The top five teams at the Pan American Championship earn berths in the 2003 ISF Junior Women's World Championship next summer in Nanjing, China.

Below is a list of the 17 players selected for the 2002 Junior Women's National Team:

Monica Abbott (Salinas, Calif.)
Anna Beardman (Riverside, Calif.)
Christina Boutelle (Katy, Texas)
Christina Clark (Santa Ana, Calif.)
Norelle Dickson (Orange, Calif.)
Lisa Dodd (San Diego, Calif.)
Laura Ferreira (El Sobrante, Calif.)
Kristi Fox (San Diego, Calif.)
Alicia Hollowell (Suisun, Calif.)
Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, Calif.)
Jodi Legaspi (Garden Grove, Calif.)
Mallorie Lenn (Garden Grove, Calif.)
Caitlin Lowe (Tustin, Calif.)
Linda Secka (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Stephanie Van Brakle (Chambersburg, Pa.)
Kristen Vesely (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Emily Zaplatosch (Scottsdale, Ariz.)

USA Softball also named two assistant coaches for the U.S. Junior Women's National Team. Mike Gonzalez (Mission Viejo, Calif.) and Gary Hanning (Santa Ana, Calif.) will assist head coach Pam Newton. Newton was announced as head coach prior to the tryout camp.

Go to USA SoftballUSA Softball for the complete news release.

Keep Your Coaching Pitch Perfect.

Stack Sports, nfca partner, nfca maxpreps, max preps, nfca partner, nfca cell wade, nfca partner, nfca bownet, nfca partner, nfca

For Those Who Know Even
Days Off Are Days On.

Learn About The Perks And Join NFCA Today.

Benefits Join Today